Donatella Versace has nothing on me!

By Jaymee Skelly

When I first came around to the idea of this blog I contemplated what I wanted readers to know about me. Introducing oneself to the world is hard enough, but doing it in 1,000 words or less seemed impossible.

I am the crafty/DIY contributor to this blog. I tend to be the one that my circle of friends turn to and ask “how can we make/recreate/design __________ at little or no cost?” I realized long ago that this has become a part of my identity. I have had complete strangers email me because they had the perfect idea for a birthday present for a niece and need someone who can design and make it. I have had co-workers come to my office to ask for help on craft projects. I have even had Bectoria’s four year old daughter identify me as the person to come to when she has broken toys. There is no way around it; this is who I am, so why not share it with others?

Before we start down this virtual road together there are a few things that you need to know about me.

I’m poor.

Ok, so I’m not poor in the grand scheme of things. In fact, I’m pretty blessed. All of my needs are met, I have a good job, a house, etc. I live a comfortable life but I do have to live on a budget. Just like most people in this day and age, I have to manage every penny that comes and goes. My disposable income seems to shrink every day yet I seem to have a growing list of things to spend it on.

A few years ago I noticed the gifts for friends and family seemed to be eating away at my disposable income; bridal showers, baby showers, birthday presents, Christmas presents, the list seems to go on and on. I’m not sure if any of you have noticed this, but gifts for kids are expensive. As the cool aunt to multiple nieces and nephews (including a few honorary nieces and nephews) I never want to give the lame gift at the party. I’ll admit it, I secretly want to give the gift that everyone notices and all the other kids are jealous of. This can be hard on a strict budget. I have found that I can make some pretty awesome gifts on a budget if I get creative. I’m proud to say that my tutus and super hero capes have been a huge hit at many parties.

Which leads me to the next thing you should know about me . . .

I totally made this!

I love to utter those four simple words. I get a smile on my face just thinking about it. I love to throw this phrase into conversation. It is a great feeling when someone compliments the dress I am wearing or the gift I just gave and I can hold my head up high and proudly announce “I totally made this.”

You should try it. Find a project, make it and show it to your friends, family, and co-workers. Hold off on telling them you made it until they compliment it. Then, with all the pride you can muster proclaim that you totally made it!

Imperfection = Character

I know that some of you are thinking “I could never do that; my work would never be good enough to show to others.” Don’t fall victim to this detrimental line of thinking. The truth is my projects are never perfect. They often do not come out exactly as I envisioned them, but that is okay. It makes each project unique and one of a kind. I can still be proud of my work without focusing on the imperfections. The woman who taught my mother to quilt told her to never remove stitches from a quilt; your mistakes are what give the quilt character.

I always wanted to be a computer hacker.

There is something about the idea of computer hacking that I find glamorous. I always wanted to fight the system and live on the fringe. The only problem is that I lack the necessary computer skills to be a hacker. I also have an innate need to follow laws. It’s hard being a rebel who plays by the rules.

So I have turned my attention to hacking fashion. I cannot afford to buy the latest runway fashions, but that doesn’t mean I can’t have the latest styles. If I see something I like I can try to make it myself or incorporate details. Donatella Versace has nothing on me! I’m always up for the challenge of figuring out how to make or recreate things. It may not be perfect and I may devise unique/odd ways to complete projects, but I always have fun and feel a sense of accomplishment when I do it.

As I move forward as a contributor to this blog, I hope to share some of my projects, tips, and tutorials with you. If any of you have ideas for projects or want me to show you how to make something, leave me a comment or send me a message with your ideas and I will see what I can do.

Categories: Crafts | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.