The Twelve, 1/2 don’ts of Christmas. Teacher gifting 101. The ideal guide for parents.

‘Tis the time of year, once again, for parents across the
nation to rack their brains and try to come up with something original to give
to their children’s teachers. The 4smartypants have used a little savvy to help
our readers take some of the guessing out of this dreaded phenomenon this Christmas.
We have interviewed teachers and have come up with a list of do’s and don’ts
for this holiday. Think of the following as teacher gifting 101. A little gift
from us here at 4smartypants to you! Read and be merry!

On the first day of
Christmas,

my student gave to me,

A coffee mug that I
hate.

On the second day of
Christmas,

my student gave to me,

Two movie tickets,

And a coffee mug that
I hate.

On the third day of
Christmas,

my student gave to me,

Three homemade
ornaments,

Two movie tickets,

And a coffee mug that
I hate.

On the fourth day of
Christmas,

my student gave to me,

Four sets of Tempera
paint

Three homemade
ornaments,

Two movie tickets,

And a coffee mug that
I hate.

On the fifth day of
Christmas,

my student gave to me,

Five dancing Santa’s!

Four sets of Tempera
paint,

Three homemade
ornaments,

Two movie tickets,

And a coffee mug that
I hate.

On the sixth day of
Christmas,

my student gave to me,

Six Target gift cards.

Five dancing Santa’s,

Four sets of Tempera
paint,

Three homemade
ornaments,

Two movie tickets,

And a coffee mug that
I hate.

On the seventh day of
Christmas,

my student gave to me,

Seven jars of candy.

Six Target gift
cards,

Five dancing Santa’s,

Four sets of Tempera
paint,

Three homemade
ornaments,

Two movie tickets,

And a coffee mug that
I hate.

On the eighth day of
Christmas,

my student gave to me,

Eight boxes of
crayons.

Seven jars of candy,

Six Target gift
cards,

Five dancing Santa’s,

Four sets of Tempera
paint,

Three homemade
ornaments,

Two movie tickets,

And a coffee mug that
I hate.

On the ninth day of
Christmas,

my student gave to
me,

Nine hideous crafts.

Eight boxes of
crayons,

Seven jars of candy,

Six Target gift
cards,

Five dancing Santa’s

Four sets of Tempera
paint,

Three homemade
ornaments,

Two movie tickets

And a coffee mug that
I hate.

On the tenth day of
Christmas,

My student gave to
me,

Ten packs of
construction paper,

Nine hideous crafts,

Eight boxes of
crayons,

Seven jars of candy,

Six Target gift
cards,

Five dancing Santa’s,

Four sets of Tempera
paint,

Three homemade
ornaments,

Two movie tickets,

And a coffee mug that
I hate.

On the eleventh day
of Christmas,

my student gave to me,

Eleven pairs of
reindeer earrings!

Ten packs of
construction paper,

Nine hideous crafts,

Eight boxes of
crayons,

Seven jars of candy,

Six Target gift
cards,

Five dancing Santa’s,

Four sets of Tempera
paint,

Three homemade
ornaments,

Two movie tickets,

And a coffee mug that
I hate.

On the twelfth day of
Christmas,

my student gave to me,

Twelve restaurant
gift cards!

Eleven pairs of
reindeer earrings,

Ten packs of
construction paper,

Nine hideous crafts,

Eight boxes of
crayons,

Seven jars of candy,

Six Target gift
cards,

Five dancing Santa’s,

Four sets of Tempera
paint,

Three homemade
ornaments,

Two movie tickets,

And a coffee mug that
I hate.

Obviously, we’re having a little fun with the list we were
given by the teachers we interviewed. Hopefully you figured out on your own
that the even numbered items including the movie tickets, Tempera paint, Target
gift cards, boxes of crayons, construction paper and restaurant gift cards are
the gifting “do’s”. This leaves the odd-numbered items including the coffee
mug, homemade ornaments, dancing Santa’s, jars of candy, hideous crafts and reindeer
earrings as the gifting “don’ts”.

We know that Christmas can be costly. We also know that one
cannot resist the holiday craft. We just hope that you remember that teachers
are people too and that means they deserve a thoughtful little something this
time of year. Some of our suggestions are a little more costly than others.
Resist the temptation to use expense and an excuse to give from the “don’ts
list”. Instead, we recommend you collaborate with the parents of the other
students in your child’s class and give a nice joint gift, say dinner for two
at a local restaurant. While it truly is the thought that counts, we are sure
that following our recommendations will be even that much more appreciated by
those who teach your kids every day.

NOTE: Did we leave something off of our list? Please comment
back and share your own savvy with our readers. We’d love to hear from you!

Categories: children, Christmas, Crafts, Family, Gifts, Parenting | Tags: , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.